Advice

CLA members can benefit from expert, impartial advice. However complex your query may be, the CLA should be your first port of call.

Our team of dedicated regional and national advisers can advise you on law, taxation, environment, planning and land use and keep you up to date on all aspects of your landownership.

You can also find out more about topical advisory issues of interest to our members in the blogs below or read detailed guidance notes in our premium advice library. Advisory handbooks which offer unparalleled technical treatment of significant issues can also be purchased at a special price for CLA members.

Whatever your query, we will find the most efficient and effective solution for you.

Latest Advice

CLA MEMBER SERVICES

Meet The Advisers

Every CLA member has their own local team to provide the first point of contact in seeking information and support on problems and queries. Click here to find contact details for your regional team.

We also have a dedicated team of specialists in London - including barristers, surveyors, planning and tax specialists – covering topics as diverse as conservation, country sports and wayleaves.

  • Regional
  • Legal
  • Tax
  • Access
  • Planning
  • Agriculture
  • Diversification
  • Environment & Land Use
  • Infrastructure & utilities
  • Property management

Our six regional teams advise on a whole range of topics relevant to rural landowners and businesses including grants, rights of way, access, crime and policing, fly tipping, flooding, LEPs and promoting local foods. They are supported by the national advisory team but should be your first point of contact for all advisory queries.

Charles De Winton MRICS
Wales - Rural Surveyor
Charles.Dewinton@cla.org.uk
Rhianne Jones
Wales - Policy Adviser
Rhianne.Jones@cla.org.uk
Graham Clark MSC MRICS
South West - Rural Surveyor
Graham.Clark@cla.org.uk
Ann Maidment MRICS
South West - Rural Surveyor
Ann.Maidment@cla.org.uk
Will Langer
South West - Regional Adviser
William.Langer@cla.org.uk
Tim Bamford MRIC
South East - Rural Surveyor
Tim.Bamford@cla.org.uk
Megan Lock BSc CIEEM
South East - Regional Adviser
Megan.Lock@cla.org.uk
Robert Frewen FRICS FAAV
North - Rural Surveyor
Robert.Frewen@cla.org.uk
Jane Harrison
North - Rural Adviser
Jane.Harrison@cla.org.uk
Libby Bateman
North - Regional Adviser
Libby.Bateman@cla.org.uk
Mark Riches MRICS
Midlands - Rural Surveyor
Mark.Riches@cla.org.uk
Richard Goodwin MRICS FAAV
Midlands - Rural Surveyor
Richard.Goodwin@cla.org.uk
Katy Anderson MSci
East - Regional Adviser
Katy.Anderson@cla.org.uk
Tim Woodward MSc FRICS
East - Rural Surveyor
Tim.Woodward@cla.org.uk
Claire Wright MSc MRICS
East - Rural Surveyor
Claire.Wright@cla.org.uk

The CLA's Legal team advises on topics including: business tenancies, contracts, sale of goods, employment, construction, country sports, arbitration, fly tipping, trespass, scrap metal, animal trespass, illegal hunting, public order, agricultural wages, employment rights and more.

Roger Tetlow
Senior Legal Adviser
Roger.Tetlow@cla.org.uk
Andrew Gillett
Legal Adviser
Andrew.Gillett@cla.org.uk
Roberta Sacaloff
Senior Legal Adviser
Roberta.Sacaloff@cla.org.uk
Helen Shipsey
Senior Legal Adviser
Helen.Shipsey@cla.org.uk
Harry Flanagan
Senior Legal Adviser
Harry.Flanagan@cla.org.uk

The CLA's Tax team advises on topics including: capital gains tax, capital allowances, exemptions, inheritance tax, income tax, landfill tax, national insurance, PAYE, reliefs, stamp duty land tax, taxation of grants and subsidies, taxation of rental incomes, tax planning, VAT and more.

Jimmy Tse
Tax Adviser
Jimmy.Tse@cla.org.uk
Louise Speke
Chief Tax Adviser
Louise.Speke@cla.org.uk
Richard Williams
Tax Adviser
Richard.Williams@cla.org.uk

The CLA's Access team advises on topics including: countryside access, coastal access, access points, public rights of way, CROW Act, mapping, liability, permissive access, problems (including dogs and sheep worrying) and more.

Roger Tetlow
Senior Legal Adviser
Roger.Tetlow@cla.org.uk
Andrew Gillett
Legal Adviser
Andrew.Gillett@cla.org.uk
Sarah Slade MRICS
National Access Adviser
sarah.slade@cla.org.uk

The CLA's Property and Business team advises on topics including: appeals, applications, CIL, green belt, national parks, change of use, designations, assets of community value, development orders, listed buildings, redundant buildings, local development plans and more.

Jonathan Thompson MA MBA DIPM
Heritage Adviser
Jonathan.Thompson@cla.org.uk
Fenella Collins MRICS
Head of Planning
Fenella.Collins@cla.org.uk

The CLA's Land Use team advises on topics including: animal diseases including bird flu, BSE and bovine TB, farm support, livestock, arable, new entrants and share farming, food processing, farm shops and more.

Susan Twining
Chief Land Use Policy Adviser
Susan.Twining@cla.org.uk
Fraser McAuley
Land Use Policy Adviser
Fraser.Mcauley@cla.org.uk

Alongside the national advisory team, our six regional teams advise on all matters of diversification including: farm and business diversification, converting farm buildings, holiday accommodation, glamping, country sports, renewable energy and more.

Charles De Winton MRICS
Wales - Rural Surveyor
Charles.Dewinton@cla.org.uk
Rhianne Jones
Wales - Policy Adviser
Rhianne.Jones@cla.org.uk
Graham Clark MSC MRICS
South West - Rural Surveyor
Graham.Clark@cla.org.uk
Ann Maidment MRICS
South West - Rural Surveyor
Ann.Maidment@cla.org.uk
Will Langer
South West - Regional Adviser
William.Langer@cla.org.uk
Tim Bamford MRIC
South East - Rural Surveyor
Tim.Bamford@cla.org.uk
Megan Lock BSc CIEEM
South East - Regional Adviser
Megan.Lock@cla.org.uk
Robert Frewen FRICS FAAV
North - Rural Surveyor
Robert.Frewen@cla.org.uk
Jane Harrison
North - Rural Adviser
Jane.Harrison@cla.org.uk
Libby Bateman
North - Regional Adviser
Libby.Bateman@cla.org.uk
Mark Riches MRICS
Midlands - Rural Surveyor
Mark.Riches@cla.org.uk
Richard Goodwin MRICS FAAV
Midlands - Rural Surveyor
Richard.Goodwin@cla.org.uk
Katy Anderson MSci
East - Regional Adviser
Katy.Anderson@cla.org.uk
Tim Woodward MSc FRICS
East - Rural Surveyor
Tim.Woodward@cla.org.uk
Claire Wright MSc MRICS
East - Rural Surveyor
Claire.Wright@cla.org.uk

The CLA's Land Use team advises on topics including: agri-environment schemes and Countryside Stewardship, forestry and woodlands, cross compliance, deer, flooding and flood defences, uplands, Campaign for the Farmed Environment (CFE), hedges, farm birds, weeds, offsetting, climate change, soil, water, and more.

Susan Twining
Chief Land Use Policy Adviser
Susan.Twining@cla.org.uk
Jonathan Baker
Senior Land Use Policy Adviser
Jonathan.Baker@cla.org.uk
Fraser McAuley
Land Use Policy Adviser
Fraser.Mcauley@cla.org.uk
Mike Seville
Forestry and Woodlands Adviser
Mike.Seville@cla.org.uk

The CLA's Property and Business team advises on topics including: Compulsory purchase and HS2, broadband, mobile connectivity, utilities, wayleaves, renewable energy, energy efficiency and more.

Tom Beeley
Renewable Energy Adviser
Tom.Beeley@cla.org.uk
Andrew Shirley MRICS
Chief Surveyor
Andrew.Shirley@cla.org.uk
Dr Charles Trotman
Senior Rural Business Adviser
Charles.Trotman@cla.org.uk

The CLA's Property and Business team advises on topics including: housing, lettings, rural tourism, heritage, grants and business support, equine, insurance, business rates and more.

Tom Beeley
Renewable Energy Adviser
Tom.Beeley@cla.org.uk
Andrew Shirley MRICS
Chief Surveyor
Andrew.Shirley@cla.org.uk
Jonathan Thompson MA MBA DIPM
Heritage Adviser
Jonathan.Thompson@cla.org.uk
Dr Charles Trotman
Senior Rural Business Adviser
Charles.Trotman@cla.org.uk
Matthew O'Connell
Housing Adviser
Matthew.Oconnell@cla.org.uk
Fenella Collins MRICS
Head of Planning
Fenella.Collins@cla.org.uk